Skip to content ↓
Earlsmead Primary School

Earlsmead Primary School



Oaks: Mrs Valambhia     

Chestnuts: Miss Motiwala

Teaching Assistants : mrs Williamson & Mr Gordon-Harris

In Early Years at Earlsmead, we understand that all children are individual and independent learners. We look to ensure that all early years children are provided with the highest quality early learning experience. We are committed to giving our children the best possible start to their school life, teaching them skills which ensure they will be lifelong learners.

Areas of Learning: 
There are seven areas of learning your child will be taught throughout the year: 

  1. Communication and Language 
  2. Physical Development 
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Developmental 
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the World
  7. Expressive Arts and Design 

We pride ourselves on listening to children and their families and use this information to personalise each child’s learning experience ensuring that all children make progress.  We see learning as fun and we strongly believe in first hand learning experiences, valuing the importance of the outdoor environment to develop children’s critical thinking and problem-solving skills. 

Play underpins the EYFS learning and all aspects of children’s development. Through play, children develop language skills, their emotions and creativity, social and intellectual skills. For most children their play is natural and spontaneous, although some children may need extra help from adults. Play takes place indoors and outdoors and it is in these different environments that children explore and discover their immediate world. It is here they practise new ideas and skills, they take risks, show imagination and solve problems on their own or with others. 

Take a look at some of the learning children do through play: